Why Go Pro? Benefits of SplashID Pro

Share this article
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone

SplashID-Pro-Icon

I seem to be getting a lot of questions recently about SplashID Pro, so I thought I’d do a little FAQ here.

 

What is SplashID Pro?

Like many well-known software applications, SplashID has moved from being a one-time purchase to being provided as a service (sometimes called “SaaS”). Providing SplashID as on ongoing service to our customers enables us to invest more consistently in development and support since there are fewer ups and downs in revenue (we used to charge for upgrades, so we’d have big revenue spikes when we launched a new version but then a trough in between releases). Our service is called SplashID Pro. SplashID Pro is the only way of getting all the latest SplashID apps with these key features:

  • Access: SplashID Pro enables you to use any SplashID app you want  you want – on a phone, tablet, desktop, or browser
  • Sync: SplashID Pro enables you to sync your records any way you want – with cloud, WiFi, or no sync at all
  • Backup: SplashID Pro users get automated backups – securely download and restore any of your last 5 backups anytime
  • Dashboard: At-a-glance SplashID Pro dashboard provides feedback on your security to keep your information safe
  • Share: SplashID Pro users can share SplashID records securely with other SplashID users and even non-users
  • Support: SplashID Pro users “go to the front of the line” with faster Priority support and free app updates on all their devices

 

Is SplashID Pro for Cloud users only?

No, SplashID Pro is for all users who want to use the latest SplashID apps on multiple devices and/or sync with PC’s or Mac OS computers. So it’s for WiFi sync and cloud users.

 

I use WiFi sync. Do I need SplashID Pro?

Yes, you do need SplashID Pro if you want to keep getting updated apps and support over time (see last question!)

 

How much does SplashID Pro cost?

SplashID Pro is $1.99 per month or $19.99 per year.

 

How do I subscribe to SplashID Pro?

You can learn more about Pro and choose your monthly or annual option here:
https://splashid.com/subscription

If you choose the annual option, right now you can get a full year of SplashID Pro for only $9.99 using coupon code MADISON on this page:
https://splashdata.recurly.com/subscribe/splashid_safe_personal_edition_yearly

 

I’ve been using SplashID for years. Do I have to upgrade to SplashID Pro?

No, you can choose to stay with the earlier desktop version you bought (usually this comes from users with version 6 or earlier), but without SplashID Pro you won’t get updates and the older desktop versions won’t be guaranteed to support new hardware and OS’s.

 

Why did I get a message saying I’ve been given a free trial of SplashID Pro?

We give free trials of SplashID Pro to some SplashID users under certain circumstances. We want to give people a chance to try all the SplashID Pro features. Most people choose to get SplashID Pro once they try it, but you’re under no obligation to keep SplashID Pro once the trial expires.

Why Go Pro? Benefits of SplashID Pro

45 thoughts on “Why Go Pro? Benefits of SplashID Pro

  • January 22, 2016 at 6:05 pm
    Permalink

    I am a long term user of LastPass. Why would I switch and how would I do it?

    Reply
    • February 1, 2016 at 7:17 am
      Permalink

      Art, thanks for the message. We have a lot of Lastpass “refugees” these days. Some switch because they aren’t satisfied with the product now and some because they are concerned about what might happen now that the product has been acquired by Logmein. You can try SplashID for free and try importing your Lastpass records using .csv import.

      Reply
  • February 13, 2016 at 9:03 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve been using splash id for many years dating back to my old palm treo phone and of course my desktop computer. Over time, I’ve paid for many upgrades. About a year ago (not sure of the time frame), after reaching out to customer service, I was told that if I upgraded again I’d be covered without further cost. I did. Now, I’m getting e-mails from you again asking me to pay for subscription services for version 8 that I already have installed on my computer. My iphone app also seems to be current. WHY? AT some point, some of us who’ve been steady customers should be accommodated. I’d really love to understand why I should feel compelled to buy more when I’m not getting anything I don’t already have…

    Reply
    • March 8, 2016 at 10:35 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Nancy, thanks for the message and for your longstanding loyalty and support. In fact, you already have SplashID Pro and access to version 8 and beyond at no additional cost — you don’t need anything further!

      Reply
  • March 12, 2016 at 7:06 pm
    Permalink

    Since I follow the discussion with Apple and the Gov about iPhone security I came to a point where I thought a save of documents in the splasID environment would be super. Do you have any plans for that

    Reply
    • April 16, 2016 at 7:29 am
      Permalink

      Yes, great point! Actually, SplashID already enables you to attach any kind of a file to a record as an attachment!

      Reply
  • September 2, 2016 at 7:57 pm
    Permalink

    I’m confused. I am also a long term customer, going back to my Palm Treo. I now have desktop version 7.2.2 on my Mac and 8.1.1 on my iPhone 6. I only use wi-fi sync. I haven’t taken any of your offers because what I have now is working fine. Although my iPhone version is up to date, I think, I’ve avoided upgrading my desktop because I don’t want to have to pay for a subscription. Am I mistaken about that? Thanks.

    Reply
    • September 2, 2016 at 9:28 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Scott, thanks so much for your loyalty to SplashID! What you have now is working fine because we gave free updates to long standing users like you. We can’t keep doing free updates forever, though, so it would be great if you could take up one of the offers in the email you should have received.

      Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 5:38 am
      Permalink

      Hi Scott, thanks for your longstanding loyalty and support. Always good to hear from fellow users that go way back to the Palm days 🙂 Sounds like the one-time WiFi invitation you should have received by email might be the way to go for you!

      Reply
  • September 2, 2016 at 7:57 pm
    Permalink

    My wife and I each purchased SplashID 6 and it’s working fine for us with desktop sync. The letter above seems to suggest it will stop working in the future though. Is there an EOL for the product or a future desktop or phone OS version you will not provide compatibility with? I’m not excited to pay an additional license fee for ostensibly the same features I have today and already paid for.

    If we do need to pay an additional fee to continue to use it, is there any chance my wife and I could share a cloud subscription rather than purchasing two since most of our current records are duplicated between us currently?

    Thanks

    Reply
    • September 2, 2016 at 9:32 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Michael, thanks for the message! I’ll reach out to you by email to see if we can find the best solution for you guys.

      Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 6:04 am
      Permalink

      Hi Michael, replied to you directly by email

      Reply
  • September 2, 2016 at 8:30 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve appreciated SplashID for years. Would my wife and oldest child need to purchase SplashID to be able to use the application/service? If not and they can share my account, do they just download the app and set up with their own unlock password? Thank you

    Reply
    • September 2, 2016 at 9:31 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Tully, thanks so much for the message! It’s easiest if each person uses their own email to set up an account. If there are specific records you want to share among you, then you can use SplashID’s Share Securely feature. Or if there are lots of records you want to share, you might look at our teams solution at http://www.teamsid.com.

      Reply
  • September 3, 2016 at 1:50 pm
    Permalink

    I have the same concern as Nancy did. Please give me an email reply. Thanks, Robert


    Reply
  • September 3, 2016 at 11:05 pm
    Permalink

    I’ve been a long time user of SplashID since my Palm days, and currently use a Nexus 4 phone, HudL2 tablet and Windows 7 based laptop syncing through wifi. I do not need or want cloud syncing, but do want to continue to have the ability to sync my mobile devices with my desktop. I am happy with the current level of functionality that I have (desktop 8.1.1.925, Android 8.1.1).
    I understand your need to have a revenue stream, and I’m happy to pay additional fees if I change OS or add devices, or to gain access to additional functionality, but I believe that I have already paid for what I currently have.
    Can you confirm that I will not ever have to make any further payment to continue to use the functionality that I currently enjoy?

    Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 6:01 am
      Permalink

      Hi Dave, thanks for your long standing loyalty to SplashID! For an account status check, please contact our support team at support.splashdata.com!

      Reply
  • September 4, 2016 at 2:28 am
    Permalink

    My spouse and I have the same issue as Michael Foldes (above). Please let us know the best way to handle this.

    Reply
  • September 5, 2016 at 9:51 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Morgan –
    I received you email to long time users … I sync between my Mac, iPad and iPhone 6 – via Wifi – and don’t plan to put data on the cloud. Am trying to decide which of the two offered packages to get …
    1. Will I be able to have up to 5 back-ups if I buy the Wi-Fi only version?
    2. Will I be able to share with a non-Splash ID user with the Wi-Fi only version?

    I LOVE SplashID as it’s easy and totally reliable for e. My husband used it but had trouble years ago and switched to DataVault. I’d rather not with but would like to share my data with him. Is it possible to import his data into Splash ID from DataVault?

    Thanks for your email – and the additional information.

    Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 6:12 am
      Permalink

      Hi Eileen, thanks so much for the message. The WiFi version enabled automated backup to a location of your choice from the desktop, but doesn’t do the 5 automated backups with the easy restore functionality that cloud sync offers. Sharing records using the WiFi version is also more limited. You can import records from other password manager apps — just export from those apps as a .csv file and import the same way. If you have any more questions, please contact support at support.splashdata.com.

      Reply
  • September 6, 2016 at 5:54 pm
    Permalink

    I’m pretty sure the last time an offer like this was made when you first introduced the Cloud version or something, can’t remember for sure, that I paid for a Lifetime update, believe it was about 19.95. Now I am being asked to do it again? What good is your work when it seems to change after a length of time when it makes it difficult for us to piece it all back together?

    While I understand many applications are moving to SaaS, I am not a fan of this constant need to be paying for something. I think SplashID should consider having non SaaS versions and stand out from the crowd.

    Reply
  • September 9, 2016 at 10:50 am
    Permalink

    We have been using splash ID for years. We have purchased several new versions, and several apps. and now my app has stopped working altogether. assuming I am willing to consider upgrading to pro, does that mean I still need to purchase new apps as well? or are those free with pro?

    Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 6:00 am
      Permalink

      SplashID Pro gives you access to all our SplashID apps on all platforms plus upgrades at no cost

      Reply
  • September 20, 2016 at 4:26 pm
    Permalink

    Hi, I’ve been trying to get a subscription using the coupon FIFTY, but it doesn’t work. I live in Guatemala. What is happening?

    Reply
    • September 22, 2016 at 5:32 am
      Permalink

      Hi Javier, I think we’ve been in touch with you about this directly, but sometimes our international customers have issues with their credit card issuer approving a transaction. You can 1) call your credit card issuer, 2) try a different credit card, or 3) contact our support team at support.splashdata.com and ask about alternative payment options such as PayPal.

      Reply
  • September 22, 2016 at 8:58 pm
    Permalink

    I am in the same situation as Scott– longtime user, have 7.2.2 on Mac, 8.1.2 on iPhone and only sync with WiFi–don’t want to use cloud sync.
    I just paid for the WiFi Lifetime access.
    I see nothing has changed.
    Is the version 7.2.2 on my Mac the latest or am I supposed to have 8.0? Is 7.2.2 the end of the road for WiFi sync? If so, what did I just pay for?
    This is very confusing.

    Reply
    • September 23, 2016 at 10:18 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Wendy, sorry about the confusion. We were giving you a free trial of all SplashID Pro features, so you shouldn’t see any changes. Your purchase ensures you’ll keep getting updates for all your apps as well as tech support over the years. You can keep using 7.2.2 on Mac or feel free to upgrade to version 8 (splashid.com/downloads). Always a good idea to make a backup from your desktop before upgrading. And we will always continue to support WiFi sync and local storage options!

      Reply
  • September 23, 2016 at 9:11 pm
    Permalink

    Hello,
    I purchased SpashId September 6 but your software doesn’t recognize the transaction. I am out of using one of my programs that I use several times a day. Please help the software is loaded on my iPhone 6 Plus.

    Reply
    • September 23, 2016 at 10:12 pm
      Permalink

      Please make sure you are using same email address for both the purchase and your SplashID account. If you’re still having trouble, please contact our tech support team at support.splashdata.com. You can create a new ticket with the link there or go straight to:

      http://support.splashdata.com/customer/portal/emails/new

      Reply
  • September 23, 2016 at 9:51 pm
    Permalink

    I have also used your product since my Treo days. Back in 2014, I took advantage of your SplashID Safe Lifetime license. I primarily use the online version and occasionally the IOS app. Does the lifetime license give me access to all the features of SplashID Pro.

    Reply
    • September 23, 2016 at 10:18 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Dan, yes it does! Thanks for your loyalty.

      Reply
  • September 23, 2016 at 11:22 pm
    Permalink

    Hi Morgan. Just a touch confused. If I purchased SplashID Safe Lifetime All Access a few years back am I already pro?? Thanks.

    Reply
  • September 24, 2016 at 3:20 pm
    Permalink

    I have a SplashID Safe lifetime license. Is SplashID Pro something different that will NOT be available via my lifetime license? In other words, if I want SplashID Pro, it will not be covered by my existing lifetime license and I’ll have to make the monthly payments?

    Reply
    • October 28, 2016 at 7:06 pm
      Permalink

      If you have Lifetime, you have Pro already

      Reply
  • September 25, 2016 at 4:09 am
    Permalink

    Love Splash I’d. Been using it for years. I’m a lifetime member. How do I stand against pro membership? Your latest email about pro membership makes me wonder if I’m about to loose functionality.

    Reply
    • October 28, 2016 at 7:06 pm
      Permalink

      Hi Joe, you probably have Lifetime under a different email address than the one you received the message at.

      Reply
  • September 29, 2016 at 8:00 pm
    Permalink

    I wanted to purchase the splash ID Key which says you can purchase 1 key with splash ID Pro for $59;
    When I go to order it it asks which version of splash ID wanted but the field becomes blank and the order cannot be completed. I sent a request about this over a month ago but the order form on your web site is still not functional. Is this product still for sale, and if not it should be removed as an option on your website. I am also a long time user of splash ID and would like to continue using it but do not feel that purchasing a yearly or monthly fee is good – I would rather purchase it for a one time fee and would pay more for that

    Reply
    • October 28, 2016 at 7:09 pm
      Permalink

      Sorry about that, SplashID Key Safe was out of stock but will be available for the holiday season

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *